In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

In the Heart of the Sea tells the ill-fated story of the Essex, a whaling ship from Nantucket in the early 19th century. After an enraged whale sinks their ship in the middle of the South Pacific, 20 men set out in three tiny lifeboats for the coast of South America. Three months later, only eight are still alive. This tragedy would become, in part, the inspiration for Herman Melville’s Moby Dick. Philbrick does a great job of interweaving the survival story, with a history of the Nantucket whalers. Now I need to go back and read his earlier best seller, The Mayflower. A really great author.

— From In the Heart of the Sea, by Nathaniel Philbrick


From the author of In the Hurricane's Eye and Valiant Ambition, the riveting and critically acclaimed bestseller and a major motion picture starring Chris Hemsworth, directed by Ron Howard.

Chris Hemsworth, Cillian Murphy, Ben Whishaw, and Brendan Gleeson star in a film based on this National Book Award-winning account of the true events behind Moby Dick.

In 1820, the whaleship Essex was rammed and sunk by an angry sperm whale, leaving the desperate crew to drift for more than ninety days in three tiny boats. Nathaniel Philbrick uses little-known documents and vivid details about the Nantucket whaling tradition to reveal the chilling facts of this infamous maritime disaster. In the Heart of the Sea--and now, its epic adaptation for the screen--will forever place the Essex tragedy in the American historical canon.

About the Author

Nathaniel Philbrick is the author of In the Heart of the Sea, winner of the National Book Award; Mayflower, finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; Bunker Hill, winner of the New England Book Award; Sea of Glory; The Last Stand; Why Read Moby Dick?; Away Off Shore; and most recently, Valiant Ambition. He lives in Nantucket.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780143126812
ISBN-10: 0143126814
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: November 10th, 2015
Pages: 336
Language: English